A return.

I haven’t posted on here for a year, not so much because I haven’t had anything to write, quite the contrary, my mind has been awash with ideas for weird entries, I just haven’t had the time to sit down and do anything. Writing up my doctoral thesis  – which successfully passed examination at the beginning of the Summer – has been partly responsible, but there have also been a number of other factors (work, family etc) that have kept me from getting on here. I can safely say that I would never advise anybody to undertake a full time PhD and try to hold down a job at the same time. It goes without saying that doctoral research is a mammoth undertaking and anything that detracts/distracts you from getting the work done, quickly becomes the bane of your life – I’ve been juggling the PhD alongside part-time social work/advocacy for the past four years and came close to total meltdown at far too many points along the way. Unless you’re lucky enough to receive a research council bursary or happen to be from a family that owns a private estate and/or a yacht, well, you’re most likely going to find yourself in a similar situation. It’s how they keep the working class working. I was lucky enough to receive a college scholarship but studying and living in London costs a lot more than the stipend I was given, so work it was.

IMG_0197

Arboreal Ruin – Hampstead Heath, London

Although the next few weeks will be pretty hectic (I have four and a half weeks of paid employment left and am desperately seeking a position that will allow me to survive in the city), I plan on updating the blog more regularly. Besides, there are a few things that I want to document and discuss whilst they remain timely i.e. the British Folk Art exhibition at Tate Britain, some new projects I’ve been working on and a couple of interesting sites and happenings I’ve stumbled across (reissues of Aickman, Slenderman, book finds etc).

More to come…soon(ish)

Leave a Reply

